Bye-bye sixties beige, hello…stripes and les publicités?

A month or so ago, I was asked if I was interested in the sewing machine that was being given away by a friend of a friend – obviously, having been thinking about saving up for one, I said yes! The sewing machine was bought in 1964, which I am perfectly happy with – it’s from an era when things were built to last, and there’s no unnecessary computerised bits to be repaired at spectacular expense.

The case, however, was another story…

Really not nice. The machine and the horrific case having been sitting in the corner of my living room ever since, and today I just couldn’t bear it any more!

I started by pasting this stripy tissue paper (recycled from my birthday presents) along the top and sides of the case, using pva glue mixed with water.

After spending an inordinate amount of time placing and rearranging bits of paper, I settled on this arrangement for one side (this photo was taken while the paste was still wet, hence the bumpiness!) The pictures were from a calendar of mainly French advertisements from the twenties and thirties that I have been storing for about three years…

The other side, which took just as long! I found some ribbon left over from Christmas to cover the handle – I’ll probably swap that for some nice material at some point, so this ribbon is just taped on. It looks better than manky brown plastic for the time being…

All done. For now – I’ll probably add to it in the future! It’s now back under the window, an unbelievable improvement on what was there before. Now to learn how to use that machine…

Leave a Reply

