An actual papercut!

You see, most of the times that I have cut designs for cards and so on, I have used card, not paper – it just seemed easier to talk about ‘paper cuts’. This was the first time that I have actually done something that corresponded more to what you’ll find if you google ‘paper cutting’; and I can’t tell you how much easier it is to use paper instead of card! No aching fingers from pressing the knife through the card, no having to make lots and lots of tiny cuts to get a tight curve right – it was so much more relaxing!

Because I was in a hurry, I used an image that I found online to get the shape of the horse, although the rest of the design was more original. The colours are a little off in the above photo – it’s a true red against deep navy in real life.

I framed the design in a simple glass clip-frame and gave it to a friend for her birthday. She loved it – another example of how something that is really quite simple to make can come across so well.

I enjoyed making this and will certainly be using similar designs again, but I won’t be abandoning ‘my’ version of paper[card]cutting – it might be painful on occasion but it still looks effective and it’s a bit less delicate!

Leave a Reply

