Reading Swap goodies

I made all of this weeks ago for my partner in a swap on Craftster, but couldn’t post about it until she’d seen it for herself! Now she has received the parcel, so I can finally post about it!

The swap was titled ‘Reading Swap’ – basically it was a chance for everybody who loves reading and books to get some new books and some crafts related to their answers to a questionnaire on the topic. Here’s what I made!

This is a ‘reading memory board’ – my partner’s name, I couldn’t think of what to call it! Essentially it’s somewhere to keep all of your reading-related stuff – bookmarks, library cards, notes on books and so on. There’s even a wipe-clean board to write library return dates or anything else that seems important! It’s made from a cereal box and brown paper with a few finishing touches in art paper and butterflies cut from (a really bad) book. I’m not sure if this sort of thing already exists, I haven’t seen anything like it before, but my partner liked it.

I made three bookmarks to go with the memory board – one with butterflies like those in the ‘bubble’, one with a papercut tree (my partner likes nature-themed items), and one backed with a quote from one of her favourite books (The Lies of Locke Lamora).

I also made a little trinket box (it measured about 3 inches wide) influenced by another of my partner’s favourite books, the ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ series by George R R Martin. You may be familiar with this – an HBO series based on the first book, ‘Game of Thrones’, is currently showing on TV (and it’s brilliant! Watch it!) I used the motifs of the House of Stark and the House of Baratheon to make two papercuts to decorate the sides of the box. I really liked this – came very close to not sending it!

I filled the box with various sorts of tea and hot chocolate, and this needle-felted sheep – my partner collects sheep and her favourite colour is purple – see, it is logical!

I rounded off the parcel with two books by one of my favourite authors, Terry Pratchett, and a pack of Mini Eggs. I really enjoyed the process of crafting for this swap…so much that I promptly signed up for another! More to come…

Leave a Reply

