‘Jaffa-cake’ baked doughnuts

Mmm...chocolate orange doughnuts

I’ve recently come across a fantastic food blog written by a Malaysian woman living in Australia, who writes about a really interesting mix of food and makes some recipes that could be pretty intimidating look easy – clearly a good thing! I mean to have a go at a few of her recipes, but today one in particular caught my attention – these Baked Lemon Ricotta Doughnuts. Now, I love anything lemony, and the idea of mixing that with ricotta in a doughnut sounded incredible to me…except that today happened to be the day that I have neither lemons nor ricotta.

Never mind, I really prefer to improvise anyway – so here’s my version, made with the ingredients I had to hand! Since Ellie has already written it out I won’t reproduce the whole recipe here, you’ll have to head over to hers to see it – her pictures are a little more sophisticated than mine but my phone is doing its best! All I did was to replace the ricotta filling with chocolate spread, and the lemon zest with orange zest, and I also used yoghurt instead of buttermilk; obviously I can’t yet comment on the lemon doughnuts but I can confirm that my version is yummy!

Can't go wrong with Nutella!

 

Shaping the doughnuts

All ready for the second proving

One response to “‘Jaffa-cake’ baked doughnuts

  1. Great looking doughnuts, Meredith! I love the flavours you used and I have to try it out soon. Thanks for the shout-out!

Leave a Reply

