A pear-less Pear Egg Custard…

Last night I made an egg custard tart to a slightly different recipe than usual, due to the fact that I had a pot of double cream in the fridge that had to be used up. I love egg custard tarts so I thought I may as well make one of those, since I had seen loads of recipes that called for cream in the custard rather than just milk as I usually use. I was also under the impression that there were some overripe pears sitting in the fruit bowl, so I thought I could incorporate them into the tart.Having made the pastry and custard, I then discovered that the pears were a figment of my imagination…so the pear version will have to be another time!

The tart turned out well, although I prefer my normal recipe to be honest – the double cream just makes it too rich for my liking, although T didn’t seem to mind the change. I was however pleased with the pastry, which I had to make with self-raising flour instead of plain; obviously it puffed up a bit more than usual, but it was still light and flaky with a lovely hint of orange so I didn’t care!

The pastry recipe is pretty simple: 4oz Trex / pastry fat, 6oz flour, pinch of salt. I added the zest and juice of one orange and 1/2  tbsp of sugar, but this is optional. I froze the fat for about an hour before I used it, before grating it into the flour and mixing with a knife. I then used the orange juice and a splash of cold water to help bring it together, before quickly kneading it into a rough ball and putting it in the fridge to rest. I was worried that the dough was too dry, it seemed very crumbly when I put it in the fridge, but resting seemed to help and it came out perfectly when I baked it!

The egg custard recipe is just as easy: 2 eggs, 1 oz sugar, 3/4 pint of milk and  1/4 pint cream. Beat the eggs and sugar, gently heat the milk and cream and pour onto the egg, beating as you do so.That’s it: all you need to do then is line a tin with pastry, blind bake it for approx. 15 minutes at 200C, and then pour the custard in, grate loads of nutmeg over the top (I use nutmeg in everything I can, love it!) and bake at 180C for approx. 25 minutes, or until the custard has set.

Leave a Reply

