Lemon Yoghurt Cake

I actually made this the day before I made the cheese, but it’s taken until now to post about it – let’s just say the cake itself didn’t last that long! I had a tub of yoghurt sitting in the fridge that I’d forgotten about, and was going to use it to make soda bread (which I LOVE) but at the last minute I decided to go down the sweet route instead. In actual fact this cake isn’t that sweet, although next time I make it I think I’ll cut down the sugar more to let the tartness of the lemon and the yoghurty tang come through even more.

Ingredients: 250g plain flour; 2 tsp baking powder; 1/2 tsp salt; 300g Greek yoghurt; 175g light brown soft sugar; 3 eggs; zest of 2 lemons; 1/2 tsp vanilla extract; 100g oil*; juice of 1 lemon.

* – I translated this recipe from one using cups, and just weighed the oil rather than measuring the volume. Also, the recipe stated vegetable oil but I used olive, and it worked really well.

Method: Whisk together the yoghurt, sugar, eggs, zest and vanilla extract until smooth. Add the dry ingredients and whisk again. When smooth fold in the oil and keep folding until completely incorporated into the mixture. Pour into a tin and bake at 180C for 45-50 minutes. When ready, leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, make up a syrup using the lemon juice and honey or sugar to taste – I kept it pretty sour but that’s just my preference! Spoon the syrup generously over the cake. Remove the cake from the tin and cool on a rack.

We really enjoyed this cake: it was wonderfully light but moist, sticky on the top and not too sweet. You could taste the yoghurt but only if you thought about it, and the olive oil worked well too – it didn’t taste of olives but I think it combined with the other flavours to deepen the taste a little. It smelled and tasted very Mediterranean!

Leave a Reply

