Mature cheddar and sage scones

‘Sconns’ or ‘scohnes’? It’s the second one for me but really, who cares? It’s all about the taste, and personally I love cheese scones, especially steaming hot out of the oven with plenty of salty butter melting into them…mmm. I hadn’t had any for longer than I can bear to think, so this afternoon I whipped up a batch. Sadly it was far too small, the dough only made 9 and that just isn’t enough! But on the other hand, they did taste amazing…Note my use of the past tense here? This oh-so artfully arranged photo cunningly disguises the fact that the batch was already half finished (this being within 10 minutes of coming out of the oven) and, truth be told, there are even fewer now. They may not be the most regular of shapes but seriously, I couldn’t care less!

The recipe: fairly standard I think, with the addition of extra mature cheddar and a good heaped teaspoon of sage mixed in. Try it – but realistically, double the quantities if there is more than one person in your household!

Ingredients: 8oz sr flour, 4 0z grated cheese, sage, 2 oz butter, 1/4 pint milk, pinch salt.

Rub the butter into the flour and salt; stir in 3oz cheese and sage; use your fingers to gently mix in the milk to a soft dough. Tip onto a floured surface, knead lightly and roll out to approx. 1″ thick. Cut into rounds, brush with milk and top with remaining cheese. Bake 10-15 mins at 190C. Eat.

On a side note, I used the silicone baking sheet that I received for Christmas (along with a whole range of other silicone baking things that I can’t wait to use) and it was great – no greasing, no sticking, a quick rinse under the tap and done. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

