Winter Warmer Hot Chocolate

I’m planning to mix up some spicy hot chocolate as part of this year’s Christmas gifts, and this morning I succumbed to the temptation caused by my reading dozens of recipes. I came across the site below entirely accidentally and can now officially declare it the Best Internet Site Ever! http://www.tastespotting.com/tag/Hot+Chocolate/ I can guarantee that you’ll be off to raid the kitchen cupboard within minutes of viewing it.

Anyway, my cupboards are in fact bare of some of the essentials of the hot choc mixes I plan to make – cocoa and good chocolate being crucial here! – so I improvised. Pretty well, I have to admit. So, in the belief that many people will have only basic hot chocolate supplies in the house, I’ll share this morning’s recipe for your enjoyment:

1 cup milk
1 1/2 cups water
5-6 dessert spoons instant hot choc mix (the add water kind)
1 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg
3 cardamom pods
3-4 tsp dark brown sugar

Pour milk and water into saucepan over medium heat. Add chocolate powder and stir well with a wooden spoon. Add spices and sugar and continue to stir for at least 5 mins, giving the spices time to infuse. Ladle into cups and enjoy.

Trust me: it works wonders on a cold and frosty morning! (And note the biscotti next to it: a good match, and they’re still holding out well!)

Leave a comment