The tip of the iceberg – Christmas presents 2010!

By which I mean that whilst I’m starting to get to grips with a select few of this years’ handmade presents, a significantly larger proportion is still hovering around in the crafting ether of my brain. Being severely limited by budget and ability (by which I mean that I can’t knit, or crochet, or carve wood, and I don’t have a sewing machine!) doesn’t help, but the real problem is that there are some people for whom I haven’t yet decided what to make. Suggestions for teenage boys, in-laws, and men in general on a postcard 🙂

One project I am cracking on with is the fleece cushion for my 9 year old niece. Allowing for the fact that, as mentioned above, I don’t have a sewing machine, the seams of the cushion cover are not the straightest in the world (NB: sewing stretchy fleece by hand is not easy!)  but as they say, it’s the thought that counts. Plus, I’m hoping that the decoration will distract from the shape of the cushion! So without further ado, here’s what I have made so far – I plan to start applique-ing tonight.

Believe it or not, stitching this name took longer than anything else. Fact.

I love this pattern…the inspiration for the larger 3D elephant tree decoration in my shop.

I’m thinking French knots in the centre of this flower. – my newest achievement!

The lion I made last night – I wasn’t sure about him to start with, but he’s grown on me!

And I’m toying with adding  a unicorn horn here…we’ll see.

There are also a few more ‘filler’ flowers, and I’m thinking about making something out of Harry Potter too as she’s just started on my copies of the books. Hopefully the finished cushion will be making an appearance here shortly!

Oh, and this blog is so new, I’d love to know if there’s anyone out there actually reading it! Please say hi in the comments!)

3 responses to “The tip of the iceberg – Christmas presents 2010!

  1. Thank you so much for inviting me to share your crafting journey with you…I think that hand stitched things are so lovely and often nicer than machine sewn ones as they show the love and care that has gone into them xxx

  2. Thankyou, that means a lot. I tend to agree and I would make my decorations by hand even if I did have a machine, but for some things I’m starting to think there are advantages to all this modern technology :). Thanks again for coming to visit! x

  3. Hi! Ijust came over from http://www.craftster.org to see your new blog!
    Very cute work! I love the little fantasy house. I’m currently in the “One Tiny Stuffie Swap” over there, and suddenly have a whole new facination with felt.
    Write me if your interested in sharing tips on creating a great blog; as yours definitely is!
    Happy Holidays! Karen

Leave a Reply

