Chilly Chilli Prawns (*icy fingers and craft knives don’t mix!)

The title says it all really. It’s cold today – that unpleasant sort of cold that Britain excels in, when it’s dull, grey and wet outside, the lights have to be on all day, and you feel chilled all the way through. I’m wrapped up in a thick woolly jumper with fluffy socks, but it took a hot water bottle to finally defrost me (that’s it until March now!) Admittedly the heating isn’t on yet, its due on at 4 (3 hours to go!) because we’re on a money-saving mission. But still – after a near miss with the scalpel blade, the paper-cutting is out until my fingers warm up!

So I thought I’d show what warming treat I made myself for dinner last night (my partner was out): Garlic Chilli Prawns. Mm…

(NB: Unfortunately I forgot to take pics until halfway through, but it’s not hard to imagine the first stages!)

Ingredients:

Raw peeled king prawns (approx. 15-20)

1/4 red pepper, diced

1/4 courgette, diced

2 cloves finely chopped garlic

1/2 – 1 tsp red chilli paste

Olive oil

Pinch salt

Pinch pepper

Pasta/noodles to serve

  • In a wok or heavy based frying pan, heat approx. 1/2 tbsp olive oil, then add garlic and chilli and stir well.
  • Meanwhile, add pasta to salted boiling water.
  • Add the diced pepper and stir for a minute or two, then add the courgette and continue to stir-fry until the pepper is softening and the courgette is becoming golden.
  • Add the raw prawns together with salt and pepper to season, and give the pan a little shake. Allow the prawns to turn pink on one side, then turn them over and colour the other. I like the prawns to start almost caramelising, so I try not to stir them around too much.
  • The pasta should be done by now – drain it, and add the pasta to the prawns and sauce. Mix in well so that the pasta is well coated with all of the flavours, and tip onto a plate, making sure that all the juices from the pan are included.

  • Et voila! I like to sprinkle a little fresh parmesan over at this point, but sadly at the moment we’re out so I had to make do. It still tastes pretty good though!

 

Leave a Reply

